| Information is Beautiful

Visualizing the major causes of death in the 20th Century.

Visualizing the major causes of death in the 20th Century.

This week I started doing some research on infographics videos, because I am very much interested in exploring this medium for my final assignment.

While I was doing some preliminary research, I stubbled upon this very captivating site called Information is Beautiful. Basically, their goal is to dedicate the website to distilling the world’s data, information and knowledge into beautiful, interesting and, above all, useful visualizations, infographics and diagrams.

One infographic that relates specifically to the topic I am planning on working on for my final assignment illustrates 20th Century Death Causes. I fact, I plan to work on breast cancer, and according to the visual below, cancer is not the number one cause of death around the world. Because we hear so much about cancer and its prevention in our Western society, we would be tempted to think that cancer would have to number 1 death toll worldwide. Therefore, it is surprising to see that other non-communicable diseases (excluding cancer of course, which has a category of its own) are the number cause of death, representing 1,970 million deaths.

Cancer and its death toll.

Cancer and its death toll.

Cancer is the cause for 530 millions deaths around the globe, and breast cancer alone causes 36 millions deaths (the most significant one being lung cancer).

I might consider doing some sort of circular diagram (animated, of course) for my final infographics video.

Leave a Reply

